My First Demonstration Attended

dsc_0282

After my last Saturday class for the year 2016, I felt so low because I didn’t ace the quiz from that class. After that I went to this demonstration at Liwasan Bonifacio to get rid of the agony. I didn’t plan to go that demonstration because I planned to visit my uncle confined in Makati Medical Center. My motive was just to yell my heart out for the disappointment of that quiz.

The demonstration last Saturday on December 10, 2016 first is in honor of international human rights day. Another issue for their gathering is for the never ending cry of the people for the Armed Forces to go away from the provinces for them to live in peace. And of course, the injustice that is the burial of Ferdinand Marcos at the Libingan ng mga Bayani. Even to release political prisoners.

In a rally like that you would always see common elements that you get to see on TV. There’s always the effigy artistically made that eventually gets burned by the demonstrators themselves. Another element are groups that’s always present like Gabriela, Akbayan, Bayan Muna that never fails to show up every rally or demonstration that never changes their plead or cry.

Coming to that demonstration, I overheard a small group of photographers joking about how much they are paid to come and yell their hearts out before listening to what the speakers on that demonstration are going to say. But judging from how they built their conversation, it seems that they just love to go to demonstrations like that.

I hesitated to ask some of the people around me on how long have they been attending demonstrations like those because one that was the first demonstration that I attended, and I was in my school uniform and some might think that I am some kind of spy. Knowing how activists think even though my school is not that far from Liwasan Bonifacio and the Manila Central Post Office, you can never be sure.

If you could just to look on their faces, you could just see how long they have been joining these demonstrations. Some could look as old as your professor in college or a close relative.

Young ones joining these demonstrations can be as young just like a child in their developing age but they are accompanied by the parent or parents who are activists.

I didn’t stay that long in the demonstration because I still have to visit my uncle.

If I didn’t study in a private sectarian institution like the one I’m in right now, I would not only risk my life in a demonstration. I would go there every time there is one that truly involves national interest. The best part for the crammer in me is that I would be more happy for a suspension of classes due to a walkout for the tuition hike not only because of national issues like those.

Author: babyama0402

I am Rick. Born April 2, 1993 living in the catch basin area of Sampaloc, Manila. I am underweight and if you can bring me to a buffet or just simply asking me out to have lunch or dinner I’ll have the most delicious meal with a lot of carbs and good fat. I am former psychology student at Colegio de San Juan de Letran and now I have shifted to journalism in the same institution. I am a fan of sports, music lover, animal lover, dog owner, movie goer in my spare time and money, geek and many other things such as photography. I am not really a bibliophile but I try to read a lot of books as much as I can from fiction to non-fiction, foreign or Philippine literature. I can write something about sports, social issues in the Philippines, even world news or just any thing I want to write about that can give meaning to the universe.

Leave a Reply

