The Cold Shoulder on THIS GUY

kevin-durant-getty-ftr-011716_10szkl5g6gepw11nb96wm8g5zz.jpg

It’s been days since the new season of the National Basketball Association (NBA) began and I still refuse to recognize that guy as a player of the Golden State Warriors (GSW) whenever news of the Warriors winning or losing pops up on my social media accounts.

One of my reasons for giving that player wearing number 35 the cold shoulder is he made a weak move by moving out of the Oklahoma City (OKC) Thunder to win an NBA title that bad. Another reason of mine for giving him that kind of treatment is the blue and yellow does not suit him. He broke the core of the Golden State Warriors by having Harrison Barnes traded to the Dallas Mavericks together with Andrew Bogut and other core players like Mareese Speights to the Los Angeles Clippers, and Festus Ezeli to the Portland Trailblazers.

More important is he turned this lovable Bay Area team to a villain team in the NBA, the new team to hate like the Miami Heat when LeBron came first to Miami. I no longer have to go to the details on what happened to LeBron before he got to Miami.

I don’t care if the rumor that the Warriors front office made a bigger offer to number 35 during the offseason just like what a friend told me because he is a fan of the Celtics and how bad he wanted him to be there. Because to see him play in a Warriors jersey is not an adjustment period for me but a reason for me to put my enthusiasm out of the Golden State Warriors just for this season or whenever he is out of the team.

It’s too early to compare his move like LeBron’s move because it’s premature and LeBron already succeeded after Miami. But if I were to do it just for the sake of comparing it to LeBron’s move, I just think the Warriors won’t succeed in their first season with him and the seasons to follow with that guy wearing number 35.

One thing I regret in doing this NBA season is printing their full schedule for this season. The only thing that keeps me from taking their full schedule out of the whiteboard here in my room is ignoring him, and to keep thinking that the Splash Brothers tandem of Klay Thompson and Steph Curry is helping the team a lot together with Draymond Green, and Shaun Livingston.

Number 35 may have best of the Thunder with 39 points in their first meeting against OKC this regular season, this is only the beginning of the ridicule on him with that trash talk made by Enes Kanter. The middle will be set on GSW’s road game to OKC on February 2017 together with its climax that will be set on their third meeting in March all the way to the playoffs next year if they get to face each other in the postseason.

It’s no surprise to basketball fans if he gets booed so loud when the Warriors visit the Thunder in February. Because for a guy who was the face of a franchise from its last days as the Seattle Supersonics to a transition team that we know as the Oklahoma City Thunder, the guys deserves the hate.

Suddenly, I’m even more excited for this season’s all-star game and see if Russell Westbrook will pass the ball to this guy or any player of the Warriors. Russell Westbrook might even find a way to downplay and shut him out the way Magic Johnson and Isiah Thomas did to Michael Jordan with his prime and popularity during an all-star game many years ago.

Whoever will be coaching this team, good luck to him in making his rotation with the west all-stars in the NBA all-star games in 2017.

More important is will he still get that many votes to be part of the Western Conference all-star team? Because the way I see it, Golden State fans would still give him a chance but OKC fans or whoever hates 35 will do everything in their power to keep him out the West all-stars.

Author: babyama0402

I am Rick. Born April 2, 1993 living in the catch basin area of Sampaloc, Manila. I am underweight and if you can bring me to a buffet or just simply asking me out to have lunch or dinner I’ll have the most delicious meal with a lot of carbs and good fat. I am former psychology student at Colegio de San Juan de Letran and now I have shifted to journalism in the same institution. I am a fan of sports, music lover, animal lover, dog owner, movie goer in my spare time and money, geek and many other things such as photography. I am not really a bibliophile but I try to read a lot of books as much as I can from fiction to non-fiction, foreign or Philippine literature. I can write something about sports, social issues in the Philippines, even world news or just any thing I want to write about that can give meaning to the universe.

Leave a Reply

