Eve of Reckoning

Ballot_boxes

Three years ago I was suppose to vote during the midterm elections. I did not vote for the midterm election of 2013 because the bitter memory of the Corona trial was still fresh to me since it was just a year after all the proceedings and the day that the late chief justice Renato Corona got his verdict was also that day was the day separation of powers died. It is one reason why I am not voting for any senator seeking re-election this year and I will only limit my vote for senators to only six and those are new faces and names because most of them were the senators who voted guilty for the late chief justice.

Renato Corona’s verdict almost got me in a heated argument with my Dad because of my belief that he was only doing his job and being an Arroyo appointee is the one issue that got him into trouble with the Yellow government especially the things that he didn’t disclose to his SALN (Statement of Assets, Liabilities and Net worth). Call me crazy if you want because looking back to another issue that got him impeached was his decision favoring the farmers of Hacienda Luisita and Hacienda Luisita is Aquino country so go figure.

Another issue on why I did not vote that year because the local election that year really got me torn between Alfredo Lim and Joseph Ejercito Estrada who were running for mayor of Manila. More important was I had a flight to catch so that I can go to my older cousin’s wedding in Agusan del Sur. The one thing that was very disturbing about the 2013 Election is when my lola was around, she brought home a DVD containing a anti-Erap documentary from a customer who strongly supports Alfredo Lim. The DVD basically was projecting Erap and incumbent Manila Vice Mayor Isko Moreno demons, incompetent and stealing Manila’s money. More important was Isko Moreno switching his side from Lim to Erap.

 

In the days drawing close to tomorrow’s election, I’ve been reading about some conspiracies about the PCOS Machines for this year’s election saying that one vote for Duterte won’t go straight to Duterte, so instead of Duterte it will go to Mar Roxas. Another is that one vote for Miriam Defensor-Santiago will go to Binay. In other words, the machines will be programmed to make this election a tight race between Binay and Roxas. Everyone won’t like it myself included. I just hope the Vice Presidential election won’t get rigged.

 

I’ve had enough of Mar Roxas screwing around especially last night when I accompanied a friend on her way back home because as we left UP Diliman, we got stuck for a bit on one portion of the Elliptical Road leading to Quezon Avenue. It’s just irritating to know that vehicles leading to Quezon Memorial Circle were not properly parked and they call themselves even their supports decent or even disciplined when they clogged the inner portion of the Elliptical Road. It’s even disturbing that the jeeps that surrounded Elliptical Road are tagged with Roxas and Robredo banners. Do these drivers ever learn? I know that some of these drivers have limited access to the internet but should I remind some of these drivers that Pantawid Pasada is not enough to supply their needs when they drive especially diesel and gasoline.

For Jejomar Binay, I don’t care on where has he gone too yesterday but I’m just happy that he didn’t not ruin me and my friends night as we went our ways going home. I just know that Binay no longer stands a chance as a presidential candidate when his fellow member in UNA Manila Mayor Erap Estrada has given his support to his goddaughter Grace Poe which to me is not a surprise since the friendship of Erap and the late Fernando Poe Jr. goes way back to the days they were actors.

In the months that Binay campaigned, I just feel bad for the people who were forced to campaign him especially the people who had setup speakers to AUVs and playing the Binay jingle over and over. It’s just sad. It’s like Malcolm McDowell200_s when he had this contraption strapped to his head in the Stanley Kubrick classic, ‘A Clockwork Orange’.

As for Grace Poe, I still can’t believe that she still has the guts to piss people off especially commuters because last week when I was on my way to summer class I saw a stage being set up again for her slate and I’m just lucky that I went out of Letran early because I do not want to suffer another traffic jam caused by a miting de avance.

Grace Poe is so star-studded from her “parents” to her endorsers that she had Coco Martin yelling his heart out to the people just to vote for Grace Poe.

As much as I hate to say this towards Susan Roces because the hit show in ABS-CBN, “Ang Probinsyano” is even a medium for Susan Roces to campaign Grace Poe. IN FACT, ABS-CBN is Grace Poe’s and Mar Roxas’ place to go (Even for the Liberal Party) to get themselves celebrity endorsers. If you find this offensive, SHUT UP NA LANG.

 

Some candidates are so desperate that they keep themselves busy to make an Anti-Duterte ad featuring kids who were forced to portray to be disgusted with Duterte. I feel bad for the parents of the children who mixed up their innocent children into this.

I don’t care if Senator Antonio Trillanes IV is behind it because if he really did it out of bitterness when Duterte himself did not show up in BPI Julia Vargas branch in Ortigas to show the true amount of his account then bye, bye Sonny. In the first place, Sonny Trillanes should be considered as a nuisance candidate like Ely Pamatong or Eddie Gil. The very reason that he was not labeled as a nuisance candidate for vice president is simply because he is a senator.

IN FACT, I am tired of extremists like him and this no longer the mid 2000s and the late 2000s in which he led those coup attempts. This is no longer the 20th century because in those days he was still trying hard to be Rambo and Commando. We can even label him as a trying hard Gringo Honasan when Gringo orchestrated those coups during the Cory Aquino administration. The difference is just that Gringo fired weapons, brought it to the streets then went into hiding until he got caught not like this guy who never fired a weapon because he brought his coup attempts to luxurious hotels, making Oakwood change its name to Ascott after the Oakwood mutiny of 2004 and ruining a wedding at Manila Peninsula in 2007 thinking that Arroyo would step down just like that after those coup attempts. Up to this day, I still don’t get why he would stage his coups at those hotels.

 

Most people are so hooked with the candidates in the national position. I’m one of the few who wants to know and wants to see a piece of action in the local election particularly in places like Caloocan (a well-known election hotspot), Maguindanao, Quezon City, San Juan, Isabela, Ilocos Sur, Cavite, and Laguna. Local elections in this country intensify the election other than the presidential and vice presidential election having a tight race in a city or province.

 

Only one day to go and I will be voting for the National Election.

The people have made up their minds and I just hope that the PCOS machines will not screw with our votes because if my vote for Miriam Defensor-Santiago and Bongbong Marcos does not count for them and that their votes will only go to other candidates, I will not just shave my head out of frustration. I will also try my best to convince one of our relatives overseas to get us out of the Philippines if one of them does not win because one of my friends is willing to ask her uncle to get her family out of here and go to Singapore.

It even sickens me to see friendships, relationships and families fall apart because of this election just because one person votes for a particular candidate and the other person has a different candidate in mind.

So people relax. You should not unfriend, unfollow, block or even report someone because of their political belief because I know someone who is in a relationship, they have not talked to each other for quite some time because the guy wants to vote for Duterte and Marcos while his girlfriend wants to vote for Santiago and Robredo. Another is a bunch of friends who were drinking buddies until they had a different decision of who they will be voting for president. Three of them wants to vote for Roxas and Robredo, another three plans to vote for Santiago and Marcos then the two remaining friends are voting for Duterte and Marcos.giphy-facebook_s

The campaign and the jingles are temporary not unless it’s President Ramon Magsaysay’s jingle or Manny Villar’s jingle when Manny Villar ran for president back in 2010 but on a serious note, a few things that will only last is what the president-elect will do or what they plan to do.

 

We should be serious in voting and we should not make the same mistake AGAIN.

God bless the Philippines and the Filipino people.

 

Author: babyama0402

I am Rick. Born April 2, 1993 living in the catch basin area of Sampaloc, Manila. I am underweight and if you can bring me to a buffet or just simply asking me out to have lunch or dinner I’ll have the most delicious meal with a lot of carbs and good fat. I am former psychology student at Colegio de San Juan de Letran and now I have shifted to journalism in the same institution. I am a fan of sports, music lover, animal lover, dog owner, movie goer in my spare time and money, geek and many other things such as photography. I am not really a bibliophile but I try to read a lot of books as much as I can from fiction to non-fiction, foreign or Philippine literature. I can write something about sports, social issues in the Philippines, even world news or just any thing I want to write about that can give meaning to the universe.

Leave a Reply

