Damien This One’s for You

Damien-Season-1-Official-Picture-damien-tv-series-39314654-2880-1920It’s been forty years since the original movie of ‘The Omen’ came out starring Gregory Peck with Lee Remick as Robert and Katherine Thorn and almost ten years for the bad remake that was released on June 6, 2006 starring Julia Stiles.

Damien starring Bradley James is thrilling I must say and I’m writing this on Black Saturday which is quite wrong if you’re a devoted Catholic unwilling to watch something like this.

It is based from the novel by David Seltzer and movie directed by Richard Donner but for this one, it features Damien Thorn as a photo journalist placed in Damascus, Syria as a war photographer and he comes back to America to trace everything that has happened in his life.

In the first three episodes of the show, the conflict that is evident in the show is nature versus nurture. The nature of what he is being the “Anti-Christ” or “The Beast” for some and how he is nurtured which we have yet to see. More important is man versus himself because he is trying to understand why there are unexplainable deaths everywhere he goes.

I do like the show showing flashbacks from the original Omen film but I can’t wait for the flashbacks featuring his human development after the “attempted murder” by his father from that moment to his teenage years all the way to his thirtieth birthday.

The show is not for the faint of heart and like the movie it shows unthinkable and gruesome deaths. Just this recent episode a man being chased by Damien tripped to an escalator and had his necktie stuck to that escalator and guess what happened. . .

I can’t seem to imagine how a bunch of three Rottweiler dogs gnaw at someone until he’s dead. To me the dogs represent the three-headed dog Cerberus, the pet dog of the Greek god of the Underworld, Hades.

So if you’re a fan of the Omen franchise and fond of shows with apocalyptic themes, then this show is for you to watch.

Author: babyama0402

I am Rick. Born April 2, 1993 living in the catch basin area of Sampaloc, Manila. I am underweight and if you can bring me to a buffet or just simply asking me out to have lunch or dinner I’ll have the most delicious meal with a lot of carbs and good fat. I am former psychology student at Colegio de San Juan de Letran and now I have shifted to journalism in the same institution. I am a fan of sports, music lover, animal lover, dog owner, movie goer in my spare time and money, geek and many other things such as photography. I am not really a bibliophile but I try to read a lot of books as much as I can from fiction to non-fiction, foreign or Philippine literature. I can write something about sports, social issues in the Philippines, even world news or just any thing I want to write about that can give meaning to the universe.

Leave a Reply

