Farewell Kuya Germs

german-moreno-kuya-germs-mild-stroke

It’s my first time writing a tribute and with that, we always thought that some people in entertainment particularly here in the Philippines will be with us forever in our lives from Julie Vega, Nida Blanca, Fernando Poe Jr., Francis Magalona to Dolphy.

It was just last Thursday when a friend invited me to visit the Cinematheque Centre Manila in Kalaw the place that formerly houses the linguistic school, Instituto Cervantes de Manila. When we got there, we planned to watch the showing of Lino Brocka’s ‘Maynila: Sa Mga Kuko ng Liwanag’ based from Edgardo M. Reyes’ novel “Sa Mga Kuko ng Liwanag” then Peque Gallaga and Lore Reyes’ ‘Sonata’ starring Cherie Gil. In our visit there, my friend asked me a random question and the question was, ‘what were German Moreno’s notable films?’ I told her of one movie titled ‘Payaso’ from 1986 directed by Celso Ad Castillo in which he was the star and gave cameo to some of the actors who were popular at that time and the actors who owe their success to him.

After the visit, I was still up late at night and I told her that the news of German Moreno’s death. Before telling her of German Moreno’s demise I could not believe it myself because she just asked me in Cinematheque what are some of his notable movies then when I saw the headline of German Moreno’s demise, you would think that it’s another RIP spam spread like John Cena’s or any famous celebrity out there.

I’m not really a big fan of German Moreno but I salute him for making some of the celebrities we know both past and present famous especially for the generation of ‘That’s Entertainment’ in which we still some of them today on TV regardless of network and I say regardless of network because some of them will be under German Moreno’s watch then when the time comes they would go to a different network outside GMA. Knowing him as a generous man from the people who have fond memories of him it’s unlikely that he would hold a grudge.

His staying power in show business is amazing that really started from the bottom and reaching the success that we know as viewers which in my opinion really gave him that staying power because he shared it. He did not keep that success to himself because he truly shared it whether one talent succeeded or not because the values he shared will remain.

It’s really sad that some of the people only know him for that one punchline, “Walang Tulugan!” from drug addicts to alcoholics which is also the title of his late night Saturday show in GMA. Sometimes I even think it’s a sign of disrespect and disservice to Kuya Germs for giving him that timeslot and seriously who still watches TV that late because it’s Saturday in which some of the people are having a night out, getting drunk or getting laid and some are sleeping already so they won’t be late for the mass on Sunday morning for their favorite parish priest or any priest in that parish.

With his demise, there’s no more late night Saturday variety show like his. There’s no more screen time for anyone who wants to be a star the way he gave it whether it is ‘That’s Entertainment’ or ‘Walang Tulugan’ and more important is there’s no more dress changes between commercials from one sequenced suit to another.

Like you said, WALANG TULUGAN!

Author: babyama0402

I am Rick. Born April 2, 1993 living in the catch basin area of Sampaloc, Manila. I am underweight and if you can bring me to a buffet or just simply asking me out to have lunch or dinner I’ll have the most delicious meal with a lot of carbs and good fat. I am former psychology student at Colegio de San Juan de Letran and now I have shifted to journalism in the same institution. I am a fan of sports, music lover, animal lover, dog owner, movie goer in my spare time and money, geek and many other things such as photography. I am not really a bibliophile but I try to read a lot of books as much as I can from fiction to non-fiction, foreign or Philippine literature. I can write something about sports, social issues in the Philippines, even world news or just any thing I want to write about that can give meaning to the universe.

Leave a Reply

