New Year’s Resolutions We Never Live out, Habits We Never Break and Expectations We Must Expect This Year

New Year 2016 card

New Year’s resolutions don’t work so much because some people tend to repeat certain habits that they wanted to end such as ‘I’m quitting smoking’, ‘I’ll never drink again’, ‘I’m going to the gym to have abs or lose weight’, ‘I’ll never spank my monkey again’, ‘I am going to look for and hook up with a better and much cuter boyfriend’ and so much more but seriously how many of these examples were really lived out?

This is what I hate about the resolutions people made and never keep them at all like a promise.

I still see one of our neighbors drink over and over. I still see that neighbor smoking three packs of cigarettes. I’ve never seen that other neighbor looking very worked out and ripped after months of going to the gym because they don’t make the effort to do so because they are still going to that fast-food chain with the clown or chubby bee even that military official cooking fried chicken and that former classmate in my previous major still heartbroken because she never learns to find a boyfriend that’s really husband material. Still giving that douche bag a chance to hook up after getting caught many times rather than the guy who has made all the effort from poetry and saving money so you guys can watch Hunger Games because it’s your favorite book. So please have mercy on yourselves and break the habit that you guys keep recycling every year.

Okay enough of that rant. My solution to the things I ranted about is if they fail to carry out those resolutions, give them a consequence by challenging or dare that friend to pay your the tickets for you to see the upcoming ‘Batman VS Superman’ movie or any upcoming Marvel this year and if you’re a girl ask that person to buy you that very expensive coffee with a promo of having their new year planner but instead of them keeping the planner you get to keep the planner to yourself.

Now if that doesn’t work, there’s always next year.

As for me, I’ve had my share of broken resolutions and if I were to name a resolution that I broke, it’s quitting smoking, quitting alcohol and going to read more books than staying up online for something unnecessary. Like alcohol, I didn’t quit but I learn to moderate.

For what will happen this year I don’t expect everything is laid out this year for myself so because like many people, I always have to work for some of the things in my life such as love life, academics, finances so I can have this cap or t-shirt or see that new movie and like the past couple of years it’s always going to be a challenge. I still have to plan what I would like to happen for this year.

Now we go to the part were some things are important.

Philippines 2016, I don’t know if we are really ready for a president who is not afraid to say bad words. So no holds barred for this portion, ARE WE REALLY READY FOR A BADASS PRESIDENT TO RUN THIS COUNTRY? Are we ready for Rodrigo Duterte to kill the criminals roaming around the dark places of Metro Manila and put corrupt officials out of office? Because if you would ask me, I am ready to conform and comply with society with this guy in Malacanang but if we talk about his running mate, I have said it before and I will say it again, Alan Peter Cayetano is nothing but a whining brat who wants the Binays out of office and may be, just may be out of his sight with a badass front runner in his side but a part of me still says his only using Duterte’s popularity for a easy win and easy access to Malacanang. But with his candidacy still in limbo, do we still see a Philippines under his rule?

If the government here in the Philippines only have a bipartisan system, Miriam Defensor-Santiago will be the one and only candidate for me qualified to be his opponent if the protest against his candidacy gets junked. But if the protest gets Duterte out of the picture the same way with Grace Poe, I would still vote for Miriam Defensor-Santiago no matter what happens. I don’t care if some politicians can work their magic, because if Miriam does not get that position to be presidential front runner of one party, or Miriam does not win at all, I would probably urinate at the gates of Malacanang and yell FUCK THE SYSTEM.

As I type this, I don’t really know who I am really going to vote for in May if Duterte makes the ballot because when Duterte told the country that he will not run for president in 2016 my mind is all set for MDS because MDS, is a good choice if you are not ready to see bodies getting dumped everywhere by the Davao Death Squad that may soon replace some of the incompetent police on duty or the Davao Death Squad could be a special unit along with Special Action Forces renaming them the Philippine National Death Squad.

Knowing Senator Miriam as a standout lawyer, I only see reforms in the justice system if she becomes president which is good and she better have reforms that would eliminate the special treatment given to high profile criminals since the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology and the Bureau of Corrections are under the justice system. I also see reforms in education but I don’t see her taking out the K+12 but rather clarifying the whole country on what it is really all about. As for infrastructure and agriculture I hope the people who will be part of her cabinet will connect the archipelago and turn the country into Asia’s rice bowl once again.

For both candidates, I hope they can give the people easy access to health care because hospitals really milking out the public especially private hospitals. I hate seeing people on TV crying because they can’t afford the bills. It’s just that depressing.

 

In sports, too bad Ginebra is already out. I just hope Yeng Guiao will finally get that All-Filipino title with Rain or Shine in the semis and in the hunt for the All-Filipino title.

Talk about Rain or Shine I’m happy with Raymond Almazan’s statement that you are just too darn stupid if you reject the National Team’s (Gilas Pilipinas) call to practice and play.

In the NBA I’m not that sad too know that the Golden State Warriors lost to the Dallas Mavericks giving the Warriors just their second lost of the season and with Stephen Curry out because of bruises, the team will survive but more players should step up because it’s not every game that the Splash Brothers will be making shots. As for the whole team, it’s not impossible that they could surpass the 1995-1996 Chicago Bulls or at least they could be as close to that 72-10 lineup because more important here is that their good standing would mean nothing if they don’t win back-to-back championship and man Luke Walton is doing a good job in Steve Kerr’s place.

For baseball in the major league, I hope the San Francisco Giants will have a better season and I hope that they will be a very healthy team this year. I just feel bad for them not keeping Mike Leake in the lineup, making him go back to the National League Central not to his former team Cincinnati Reds but to the St. Louis Cardinals. That could have been a good pitching rotation for the Giants with Madison Bumgarner, Jeff Samardzija, Johnny Cueto, Matt Cain (If he’s really one hundred percent), Tim Lincecum (If the Giants would still want him back), Chris Heston, Jake Peavy and hope more good trades especially getting Yoenis Cespedes.

As for the teams in the American League like the World Series champions, Kansas City Royals they are the only team I know in the American League who would still be in the postseason other than the Toronto Blue Jays but with David Price out of Toronto now with Boston, it’s hard to see the Blue Jays leading the AL East after that phenomenal win against Texas last postseason with Jose Bautista’s three-run home run in what many consider the longest seventh inning of that postseason.

 

In movies, I hope I can watch all of the Marvel movies that will be released this year. I also hope that I can finally watch a Cinemalaya entry and that more films in the country will get the recognition it deserves. I also hope Philippine cinema will have more brilliant script writers and directors that will tell us more stories that will leave us in awe and thinking how a story like that was written.

So with a new post and a new year may we find hope this year in all aspects. Let us not expect so much from others but rather have faith in their abilities.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Author: babyama0402

I am Rick. Born April 2, 1993 living in the catch basin area of Sampaloc, Manila. I am underweight and if you can bring me to a buffet or just simply asking me out to have lunch or dinner I’ll have the most delicious meal with a lot of carbs and good fat. I am former psychology student at Colegio de San Juan de Letran and now I have shifted to journalism in the same institution. I am a fan of sports, music lover, animal lover, dog owner, movie goer in my spare time and money, geek and many other things such as photography. I am not really a bibliophile but I try to read a lot of books as much as I can from fiction to non-fiction, foreign or Philippine literature. I can write something about sports, social issues in the Philippines, even world news or just any thing I want to write about that can give meaning to the universe.

Leave a Reply

