The fault in our posts

4bVDS7e

There have been numerous tragedies and events that shaped the world way before the rise of the internet. In those days not everyone in the world have been able to express grief, sympathy and even joy from breaking the wall in Berlin in 1989, the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1990, the recount between George W. Bush and Al Gore’s that eventually led to George W.’s presidency, of course there’s 9/11 and many other events that follow. A simple moment of silence was more than enough and a little TV coverage were enough to express it and flags that are half-mast.

At this point I am not being insensitive but in this modern world expressing thoughts about everything is sometimes relevant and sometimes annoying just to tell the world that you give a damn about everything especially the recent attacks in Paris but before these recent attacks there was Charlie Hebdo earlier this year on January. I get the point that someone expresses grief but seriously, are you in Paris right now? Do you know someone or do you have some relative in Paris right now that died in that event? Because last time I checked, you are not KC Concepcion who has lived and comes often to Paris at her free time. What I don’t understand here is why Paris? In my perspective, it is the last city to be attacked by a bunch of extremists that is disturbingly growing to huge numbers.

Before we even express our grief to a different part of the world, how about expressing on our own territory first when something as bad as Paris happens here in our country? Why can’t we express sympathy to the Lumads? Why can’t we rage over the military to leave the lands of indigenous groups like them and leave them in peace not just rage over the government’s incompetence.

The internet may be an avenue to express everything but let us remember that not everyone gives a damn about your Facebook status, your tweet or photo in Instagram (expressing it through picture) because someone has already done it for you and that someone could look smarter online and offline, also he has a more meaningful post. What’s most disturbing about it is someone just joining the bandwagon of grief without knowing the facts. Because for all I know the bandwagon effect of social media often happens in sports or watching that noontime show and those hit primetime shows you always watch.

Sometimes I just want to turnoff my device or deactivate my social media accounts because of someone posting for the sake of it.

Author: babyama0402

I am Rick. Born April 2, 1993 living in the catch basin area of Sampaloc, Manila. I am underweight and if you can bring me to a buffet or just simply asking me out to have lunch or dinner I’ll have the most delicious meal with a lot of carbs and good fat. I am former psychology student at Colegio de San Juan de Letran and now I have shifted to journalism in the same institution. I am a fan of sports, music lover, animal lover, dog owner, movie goer in my spare time and money, geek and many other things such as photography. I am not really a bibliophile but I try to read a lot of books as much as I can from fiction to non-fiction, foreign or Philippine literature. I can write something about sports, social issues in the Philippines, even world news or just any thing I want to write about that can give meaning to the universe.

Leave a Reply

